Saturday, November 18 • 18:15 - 20:15
Keynote Address/Awards Night

Sign up or log in to save this to your schedule, view media, leave feedback and see who's attending!

Nobel Prize-winning economist Joseph Stiglitz will address the full conference, under the theme Media Power in a Post-Truth World. Using an interview format, Prof. Stiglitz will be questioned by Sheila Coronel, academic dean of the Columbia Journalism School. Following that will be special presentations of the annual African Fact-checking Awards (by Africa Check) and the biennial Global Shining Light Awards (by GIJN). 

avatar for Sheila Coronel

Sheila Coronel

Stabile Professor, Columbia University Journalism School, MDIF Board
Sheila Coronel is Dean of Academic Affairs at Columbia University’s School of Journalism, Toni Stabile Professor of Professional Practice in Investigative Journalism, and Director of the Toni Stabile Center for Investigative Journalism. She began her reporting career at the Ph... Read More →
avatar for David E. Kaplan

David E. Kaplan

Executive Director, Global Investigative Journalism Network
David E. Kaplan has worked in investigative journalism for 45 years, reported from two dozen countries, and won or shared more than 25 awards. He has managed nonprofit newsrooms and investigative teams, and played a key role in pioneering cross-border investigative reporting. During... Read More →
avatar for Mojak Lehoko

Mojak Lehoko

MC - Awards Ceremony
Mojak Lehoko began performing in 2009 at Cool Runnings Melville at the 
longest-running comedy club in South Africa (better known as The Underground). 
His comedy could be regarded as observational and spontaneous, with a knack for identifying 
the humour in even the most “dire... Read More →

avatar for Joseph E. Stiglitz

Joseph E. Stiglitz

Nobel Laureate, Economics, Columbia University
Joseph E. Stiglitz was born in Gary, Indiana, in 1943. A graduate of Amherst College, he received his PHD from MIT in 1967, became a full professor at Yale in 1970, and in 1979 was awarded the John Bates Clark Award, given biennially by the American Economic Association to the economist... Read More →

Saturday November 18, 2017 18:15 - 20:15 PST
The Great Hall 3 Jorissen St, Johannesburg, 2000, South Africa